The Tolkien Challenge!

March 12, 2010

Movie vs. Book

Filed under: Special — esteluindunedain @ 2:28 am

Sorry that took so long everyone! I’ve been really busy with school and didn’t have time to finish watching the movie until right now. I hope you all found something you liked on the feature!

So now: My thoughts on the book and movie.

I have to say, I like the movie more. And I also know that’s because that I’ve seen the movie dozens of times more then the book, so I’ve of course gotten used to the movie and whatnot, just as I’m sure many people who read the book first don’t like the movie as much. Besides the fact the I’ve “grown up” on the movies, so to speak, there are a few other things in the movie I like more.

1. Aragorn. I like his character a lot more in the movie. In the book, he seems almost mean to me. In the movies, he seems a lot less arrogant. It also threw me off in the book that he actually seemed to want to be king. That was definitely not in the movie. He also seems kinda over dramatic in the books, but maybe that’s just me.

2. More of Arwen: I’ve always liked Arwen, and I’m kinda that she didn’t even have a line in the book. :[ I do still wish that Glorfindel had saved Frodo… I liked him… but I still like Arwen.

3.Gandalf’s Death: I know I mentioned this in my post about ‘The Bridge of Khazad-Dum’ but I think the movie did a much better job portraying the sadness and realism of his death. In the books it was like it was no big ndeal.4

4.”Let’s go hunt some Orc.”: My favorite quote in the movie. Since the movie ends in a different place in the book, I know it wouldn’t be in there, but I”ve started the Two Towers, and I’m sad that the quote doesn’t exist at all in the book! :[

Now here are things I liked more in the books:

Glorfindel: As I said before, I wish Glorfindel was in the movies. He seems like a pretty awesome elf dude. ;]

Bree: I wish that there was a little bit more to the Bree scene in the movie. I love that scene in the book where Butterbur and Nob have more of a part! They rather amused me.

So there’s my take on it. What do you all think? Agree? Disagree? Drop me a comment and let me know!

Until tomorrow when my usual posting resumes!

Carleigh

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

