The Tolkien Challenge!

March 9, 2010

The Fellowship of the Ring: Part 10 (Final Part)!

Filed under: The Fellowship of the Ring — esteluindunedain @ 11:25 pm
Tags: , ,

So everyone, milestone one is officially here! The Fellowship of the Ring is over for me. Tonight I’m going to watch the movie (extended edition of course!) and have a mini celebration for myself. I’m going to be posting the last stats page for FOTR now, and then later tonight, the feature will come, along with what I thought of the book compared to the movie. I bet you’re all pumped. :] Without further ado, Part  10 of The Fellowship of the Ring!

Reading from 3/8/10

Pages Read: 444-458

Pages Left: 0!

Chapter Read: The Breaking of the Fellowship

Books Read: The Hobbit

The Fellowship of the Ring

The Two Towers

The Return of the King

Favorite Quote: ‘Is it not a strange fate that we should suffer so much fear and doubt for so small a thing?’ (Boromir)

Why I like it: Isn’t this also the way of the world? People get so bent out of shape over things that, in the end, are not significant. I know that is not the case of the ring. The ring itself is quite significant. But people worry the same amount over money, possessions, or land as they do over the ring in LOTR. All of these things in the end don’t matter. Sure they’re nice, and they help, but they aren’t the important things in life.

Chapter side note: I was kind of surprised when Boromir was still alive in the end. XD As we all know, in the movies, he dies by the end of the first one. I couldn’t help but feel sad anyway knowing that the Fellowship was officially disbanded. I loved it when all of them were together… but oh well. The Two Towers is going to be great and I can’t wait to pick up where the Fellowship left off!

What I thought about the whole book: In general, I liked it. I’ll get more into what I thought when I compare the book to the movie in my next post, but I generally thought it was pretty decent. My only complaint (and I know people may hate me for saying this) is that I don’t really like Tolkien’s writing style. Don’t get me wrong, the man was a genius and I love him to death, but like one of my friends said: ‘his style is almost like he’s writing for a children’s book. This style worked very well for The Hobbit, but not so much for the Trilogy. ‘

I agree with her. I know many people won’t, and that’s okay! We all have different opinions and no one is lesser to somebody else because we have those opinions… right?  Right.

Alright, I’m going to end this here. No Elvish for you guys today, but expect to see some tomorrow! ;]

Until Later!

Carleigh

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

