The Tolkien Challenge!

March 3, 2010

The Fellowship of the Ring: Part Four

Reading from 3/1/10

Pages Read: 305-330

EDIT: I had forgotten that back in my intro I said I’d say how many pages I had left. That’ll start today.

Pages Left: 128 I have less to go then I thought!

Chapter Read: The Ring Goes South

Books Read: The Hobbit

The Fellowship of the Ring

The Two Towers

The Return of the King

Favorite Quote: ‘Faithless is he that says farewell when the road darkens,’ said Gimli.

‘Maybe’, said Elrond, ‘but let him not vow to walk in dark, who has not seen nightfall.’

‘Yet sworn word may strengthen quaking heart,’ said Gimli.

‘Or break it,’ said Elrond.

Why I like it: It’s like a battle of the proverbs! That kinda made me laugh, but these are all beautiful and true statements as well. Always good to find some meaningful quotes. :]

Side Note: I really liked this chapter. It kind of showed us more of the fun sides of the members of the Fellowship and gave us a glimpse of their relationships with each other. I’ve always been fond of looking at the relationships characters in books and movies have though. It makes the story that much more realistic. Another one of my favorite parts that would have made too long of a quote was when Gandalf and Legolas were somewhat teasing each other (The whole ‘if elves could fly over mountains they might fetch the sun to save us’ bit). It made me laugh when Legolas just hopped on top of the snow bank and told Gandalf that he was off to fetch the sun. :]

Elvish:

I tested myself on pronunciation. Nothing new. www.thecouncilofelrond.net people said that it’s not going to be beneficial to rush through the lessons, but rather focus on one until you have it down and then move on. I wanted to make sure I know how to say the things I’m going to be learning, so I just flipped through the book and found the elvish phrases while I practiced saying them. I don’t quite know what I’ve said yet… but I know how to say them!! XD

Still no comments from anyone… :[ But I’m okay with that! I’ve had 18 visitors of the span of 2 days! Thanks to everyone from www.theonering.net who stopped by (My stats said everybody who’s visited came from that site) To thank the community I’m going to post a special endorsement for the site incase anybody comes to visit from the other sites I’ve posted on. ;] That’ll come up tomorrow during the day. I have an 80 minute study and nothing else to do. So you guys get free publicity!

Please do leave me a comment on this post or any of my other posts if you have suggestions for me or comments about the books yourselves! I’d love to hear them! 

Peace Out:

Carleigh

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

