The Tolkien Challenge!

February 27, 2010

Fellowship of the Ring: part 1

Filed under: The Fellowship of the Ring — esteluindunedain @ 9:59 pm

Post One of the Tolkien Challenge! This is technically from yesterday (2/26/10).

Stats:

Pages Read: 232-268

Chapters Read: The last few pages of Flight to the Ford through the end of Many Meetings. (Chapter 12 of book 1 Through Chapter 1 of book 2)

Books To Read: The Hobbit

                                The Fellowship of the Ring

                                The Two Towers

                                The Return of the King

Favorite Quote: ‘There are trolls!’ Pippin panted. ‘Doen in a clearing in the woods not far below. We got a sight of them through the trees. They are very large!’

                                 ‘We will come and take a look at them,’ said Strider, picking up a stick.

The reason I liked this quote because it made me laugh at first. Since I didn’t know that they were the trolls that Bilbo had encountered and that had turned to stone, I was thinking, What would compell Aragorn to bring a stick to fight trolls? He’s a Ranger for God’s sake! He should know better then that! Then as I moved on in the story, I figured it out. XD

Onto the elvish:

I’m going to start by listing words that I know. Also, I’m not quite sure how to add accents and all that, so if there’s supposed to be one, I most likely know and just am not able to put it there yet. ^^;

Ada/Adar- Dad/Father

Gwador/Gwador-nin- brother/my brother

Ion/Ion-nin- Son/my son

Mellon/Mellon-nin- Friend/my firend

Iston- I know

Ernil- Prince

Estel- Hope

Mae Govannen- Well Met

Hannon-le- Thank you

Dunedan- Man of the west

Lasto- Listen

I think that’s about it for the elvish words I know. Wanna know where I learned them? Fanfiction. XD Yes. Fanfiction. I’m an avid reader of the Teitho Challenge (http://teitho.walking-vision.com/). I also love two specific authors on fanfiction.net. Silivren Tinu and Evergreene. Go search them in the search engine and read a few of them! They both write amazing Aragorn and Legolas friendship stories. But Evergreene also does more involving the rest of the fellowship. Both have made me laugh out loud and Silivren has almost made me cry sometimes! They both get them incredibly in-character and everything. I recommend them both highly!

I have also found a site to help me learn elvish: www.councilofelrond.com. I’ve played around there before, but they have some pretty awesome tools for learning elvish. If you want to learn elvish too, I think they’ll be a good place to look! :]

Well, I believe that’s all I have to say for now. Until tomorrow fellow Tolkien lovers!

Carleigh

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

